12 steps to heal a heartbreak


Had a good chat with mader Yhoyhien this morning.
She told me to make a checklist of some of the things I was able to do based on this list.

Let’s see our progress, shall we?

1 point – 1. Confirm you have the ailment. Check!
Sabi sa list, it’s where you see the physical signs. Like, crying, walang gana and stuff. Well, crying, loss of appetite, crying. Emo. Yep, all check. Avoidance of music by Air Supply, check. Unless of course, marinig ko sa bus or something. haha!

1 point – 2. Get perspective. Check!
Sabi sa site, heartbreak daw is nothing new. Yeah, realizing that. Actually I find myself surrounded by people who are having their own heartbreaks. It’s sad, pero ganun talaga. :) But the journey will end soon. :)

1 point – 3. Get angry. Check!
Dati, I rememeber, tinatanong ako madalas ng kabarkada ko na si Rhostle. “Terri, bat di mo siya kayang i-hate?” I just couldn’t. Feeling ko kasi, hindi hate yung need ko. If there is hate, lalo lang ako hindi makakamove on. Sure, I feel angry for what happened. Pero, wala na eh. Let go na lang and forgive. That’s the next road to take. :) ne?

0.5 point – 4. Write your pain. But do not send. Half check!
I’m a little guilty of this. I write down my pain, yeah. Pero often times, I sent it. Crap. Hehe. Pero lately, I found myself just writing it down. Just writing it and saving it sa drafts ng email. There’s no sense in sending it anymore. So what kung may painful ngayon, mawawala rin yan. As if naman may magagawa pa siya sa pain mo. :D

1 point – 5. Stay sober. Check!
Yeah. I don’t want to drink if I’m feeling down. Drink because you’re celebrating. :) I remember, every time mag aaya ako sa friends ko, Joecon always warns me, “Pag nag emo or umiyak ka habang nag iinuman, papatayan kita ng ilaw.” :)) Ayaw niya kasi na nag eemo ako.

0.5 point – 6. Don’t drink and communicate. Half Check!
A little guilty, hindi naman ako lasing, pero kasi pag medyo antok nako, yung in the middle of consciousness and sleep, I tend to text. Memorize ko kasi number niya. Ginagawa ko to. -_- Pero, sometimes, I just text and save sa drafts ko. Hehhe. Kaya medyo natatakot ako mag pa text sa ibang tao using my phone :))  (okay, delete ko na)

1 point – 7. Keep yourself occupied. Check!
Sabi sa list, “work hard, get out of the house, or take up a new hobby such as painting Warhammer miniature figurines or visiting every nail salon in town. Staying busy does not mean reading the collected history of your five-year e-mail correspondence. Delete it now.” Yep, I keep myself super busy. Doing things na i love to do. Piano, photography, exercising, running, traveling, driving, going out with people who I know likes me for who I am, not for who I can be. It’s a very fulfilling thing. Oh, cosplay! :D (sino gusto sumama mag cosplay?)

1 point – 8. Get exercise. Yeah! Check!
Gym, run, bike, mountain climbing! Organizing marathons sa office and stuff. Next in my list, TENNIS. :D yeah…

0.5 point – 9. Don’t be creepy. Half check!
Sabi sa site, eto daw yung “No stalking.” Lol. I guess some of us are guilty with this. Especially since right after. hehe. I have stopped checking na actually. Medyo long time na rin. May times na i get curious, pero I know na if I check, I will only get hurt with what I will see. Kaya hindi na lang mag check. Pero dahil marami na rin ako nagagawa, minsan, I forget na gusto ko pala i-check. :) I guess keeping self busy helps drive away ung curiosity na yun.

1 point – 10. Dematerialize the past. Check!
Sabi daw “The presence of physical reminders only prolongs the agony and magically wards off new lovers. Place mementos such as photos, lingerie, and joint credit cards in a box and hide this in your basement.” Yeah, this helps. Kasi if you still keep seeing it, masakit lang. Hehehe.

0.5 point – 11. Break off all contact. Half check!
I stopped. Pero sometimes, on a moment of weakness, na ttext ko, or email. I just miss him.

1 point – 12. Be patient. Check.
“Time heals all. Remember, if you don’t at least try to get over your heartbreak, then you’ll be trapped forever in a limbo fantasyland of false hope, and you’ll obsessively pine for future reconciliation. And if you’re a glutton for punishment like me, that’s exactly where you like to be.” I believe now that time heals most wounds. I will be healed, in time. :)

Over all score: 10/12! :D getting there.

Categories: aliw stuff, realizations | Tags: , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “12 steps to heal a heartbreak

  1. borborygmi

    wow.. gusto ko to.. ndi sa tapos na kame pero medyo malabo kame eh.. hahaha.. i think, i need this.. hehehe..

  2. pero .. you should have a definite time. I mean, you should know when to stop it. Kasi, wala. Baka mahirapan ka mag go through ng 12 steps nato, when you two are not completely finished.

    Mahirap lang to, painful.. and when you end it … you will have to go through it again. :(

  3. Bea

    waaahhhh… kaya mo yan terri… i can still remember nung anjan ako sa ganyang stage ng buhay ko.. sa sobrang depression.. nag-subscribe pa ko sa isang site about “getting your ex back” na program… waaahhhh… pero true talaga… i got him back.. :D

    • thanks bea… pero i don’t think that’s what he wants. Well, I don’t think I should get them back if they do not want to.

      loving is about letting go.

      haay. :)

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

